Our curriculum

At Playwell we use the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework.

_MG_5733What is EYFS?

This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when you child is born up to the age 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

How will my child be learning?

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should most develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive art and design

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors.

How can I find out how my child is getting on?

Your child will be assigned a designated key worker, this is the person who:

  • Is the main point of contact within the setting
  • Helps you child become settled, happy and safe
  • Is responsible for your child’s care, development and learning
  • Takes a careful note of your child’s progress, sharing this with you and giving you ideas as to how to help your child grow at home.

For more information on the EYFS and how you can help your child’s learning, visit the website at http://www.foundationyears.org.uk.